News: Prizes

31 October 2020

The deadline for the 2020 R. Gapper postgraduate essay prize has been extended to 30 November 2020 - get your entries in now!

19 October 2019

The deadline for the 2019 R. Gapper postgraduate essay prize is fast approaching. Make sure you get your submissions in before 31 October!

05 February 2019

The Society for French Studies is pleased to announce that the recipient of this year’s R. Gapper Postgraduate Essay Prize is Madeleine Chalmers (Trinity College, University of Oxford), for an essay titled ‘The Surreal Technics of André Breton and Gilbert Simondon’.

06 November 2018

The Society for French Studies is delighted to announce the results of the R. Gapper Undergraduate Essay Prize 2018.

11 June 2018

We are delighted to announce that this year’s R. Gapper book prize has been won by Prof. Roger Pearson (The Queen’s College, Oxford) for Unacknowledged Legislators: The Poet as Lawgiver in Post-Revolutionary France (OUP, 2016). Also highly commended is Representing the Dead: Epitaph Fictions in Late-Medieval France (Boydell & Brewer, 2016) by Dr Helen Swift (St Hilda’s College, Oxford).

26 March 2018

We are pleased to announce that the winner of this year’s R. Gapper Postgraduate Essay Prize is Charlotte Thevenet, a doctoral researcher at University College London. The prize was awarded for an essay entitled ‘Réponse du « Juif » à l’antisémite: Derrida, commentateur de Hegel et Genet’. 

The Society offers its congratulations to Charlotte Thevenet on her achievement, and also to the joint runners-up for this year’s award: Liam Lewis of the University of Warwick (for an essay entitled ‘Sight, Sound, and the ‘Cri’ of the Mandrake in the Bestiary by Philippe de Thaon’) and Rebecca Sugden of the University of Cambridge (for an essay entitled ‘Malicious Fictions and Secret Histories in Balzac’s Une ténébreuse affaire’). 

04 December 2017

The Society’s annual prize for articles published by early career researchers is now open for submissions. 

30 October 2017

We are delighted to announce the winners of this year’s R. Gapper undergraduate essay prize. Submissions this year covered a wide range of periods and topics: literature, language and thought from the Medieval era to the 21st century; cinema; history; linguistics; politics; disability studies; critical theory.

14 September 2017

The Society awards an annual prize for an essay by a postgraduate student, on any subject within the scope of French studies. This year's competition is now open.