Registration for our 2018 conference in Cork closes on 25 May - please register now!

Executive Committee

We are always very happy to hear from members of the Society who would like to get involved in the executive committee! If you are interested, please contact Bill Burgwinkle.

The Society for French Studies is charity no. 1078038 and is a company, limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales, no. 3801778. Our registered office is 41 Wellington Square, Oxford, OX1 2JF.

Elected officers


Professor Bill Burgwinkle

King’s College
Cambridge CB2 1ST


Professor Judith Still

Department of Modern Languages and Cultures
University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham NG7 2RD

Luke Sunderland
Honorary Secretary

Dr Luke Sunderland

School of Modern Languages & Cultures
Durham University
Elvet Riverside
New Elvet
Durham DH1 3JT

Ruth Cruickshank
Honorary treasurer

Dr Ruth Cruickshank

School of Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Royal Holloway, University of London
Egham Hill
Egham TW20 0EX

Nina Parish
Conference Officer

Dr Nina Parish

Department of Politics, Languages & International Studies
1 West North
University of Bath
Bath BA2 7AY

IT officer

Dr Katherine Shingler

Department of Modern Languages and Cultures
University of Nottingham
Nottingham NG7 2RD

Pollie Bromilow
Membership secretary

Dr Pollie Bromilow

Department of Modern Languages and Cultures
Cypress Building, Chatham Street
University of Liverpool
L69 7ZR

Charlotte Thevenet E1473241095825
Postgraduate officer

Charlotte Thevenet

School of European Languages, Cultures and Society
University College London
Gower Street
London WC1E 6BT

Andrew Counter
Publicity Officer

Dr Andrew Counter

University of Oxford
New College
Oxford OX1 3BN

Appointed officers

Tim Unwin
General editor, French Studies

Professor Timothy Unwin

Department of French
School of Modern Languages
University of Bristol
17/19 Woodland Road
Bristol BS8 1TE

Cayley New
Co-Editor, French Studies

Professor Emma Cayley

The Queen’s Building
The Queen’s Drive
Exeter EX4 4QH

Russell Goulbourne 1
Co-editor, French Studies

Professor Russell Goulbourne

Department of French
King’s College London
22 Kingsway
London WC2B 6NR

Jim Simpson
Editor, French Studies Bulletin

Dr James Simpson

University of Glasgow
School of Modern Languages
Hetherington Building
Bute Gardens
Glasgow G12 8RS

Diana Knight
General editor, Legenda RMFS

Professor Diana Knight

Department of Modern Languages and Cultures
University of Nottingham
Nottingham NG7 2RD

Elected members

Img 0093

Dr Oliver Davis

School of Modern Languages and Cultures
Humanities Building
University Road
University of Warwick
Coventry CV4 7AL

Claire Gorrara

Professor Claire Gorrara

School of Modern Languages,
66a Park Place,
Cardiff CF10 3AS

Louise Hardwick
*On leave until January 2019*

Dr Louise Hardwick

Department of Modern Languages
University of Birmingham
Birmingham B15 2TT

W Rms Blob Common Download Photo

Dr Michael G. Kelly

School of Modern Languages and Applied Linguistics
University of Limerick
County Limerick
Republic of Ireland


Dr Emmanuelle Labeau

School of Languages and Social Sciences
Aston University,
Birmingham, B4 7ET

Johanna Maltcropped

Dr Johanna Malt

Department of French
King's College London
Room 4.45 Virginia Woolf Building
22 Kingsway
London WC2B 6LE

David Mc Callam

Dr David McCallam

Department of French
School of Languages and Cultures
University of Sheffield
Jessop West
1 Upper Hanover Street
Sheffield S3 7RA

Margaret Topping

Professor Margaret Topping

School of Modern Languages
8 University Square
Queen’s University Belfast
Belfast BT7 1NN

Victoria Turner

Dr Victoria Turner

School of Modern Languages,
Buchanan Building,
Union Street,
St Andrews KY16 9PH

Edward Welch

Professor Edward Welch

School of Language and Literature
University of Aberdeen
King’s College
Aberdeen AB24 3UB