In 2008 the Society for French Studies launched an annual Malcolm Bowie Prize, to be awarded for the best article published in the preceding year by an early-career researcher in the broader discipline of French Studies.

Malcolm Bowie was not only the most eminent and inspirational Anglophone scholar of French literature and theory of his generation, he was a towering figure in the field because of his tireless devotion to the scholarly community both in the UK and abroad, his service to the Society for French Studies offering but one example of this: he was President of the Society from 1994-96, as well as General editor of its journal (French Studies) 1980-87. The Society felt that it was particularly appropriate to honour his memory by founding a prize for which only early-career scholars will be eligible, since he was a remarkable mentor to countless younger scholars, both in the UK and abroad.


Malcolm Bowie Prize competition 2017

The Society for French Studies is now accepting entries for the 2017 Malcolm Bowie Prize.

The award includes:

  • a cash prize of £1000;
  • expenses-paid travel to the next annual conference of the Society for French Studies;
  • mention in the French Studies Bulletin and on the Society for French Studies website.

Conditions of entry 

The Society invites nominations of articles published in 2017 from editors of learned journals, editors or publishers of collected volumes, and heads of university departments. Authors may not self-nominate (though they may ask editors, publishers, or university departments to consider nominating them). To be eligible for nomination, authors must be within five years of obtaining their PhD when their article is published (in this instance anyone who received his or her PhD in or after 2012 but before the end of 2017). In addition, they must either have been registered for their PhD or worked since then in a Department of French/Modern Languages, or equivalent. Articles may be published anywhere in the world, but must be written in French or English.

Nominations should be submitted by email to Professor Judith Still (, together with a statement which includes full publication details of the article concerned and an indication of how the candidate satisfies the two criteria for eligibility specified above. Nominations should be accompanied by a PDF file of the article as it appears in print. Nominations not accompanied by a PDF file will not be valid.

The deadline for receipt of nominations for the 2017 Prize (including the article itself) is 27 January 2018. Entries may be submitted immediately.


Malcolm Bowie Prize: 2016 competition

The Society for French Studies is pleased to announce the outcome of this year’s Malcolm Bowie Prize.

The winner of the 2016 Prize is Tobias Warner (UC Davis) for his article ‘How Mariama Bâ Became World Literature: Translation and the Legibility of Feminist Critique’, published in PMLA, 131: 5 (October 2016), 1239-55.

 The runner-up is Dónal Hassett (University of Bristol) for his article ‘Pupilles de l’Empire: Debating the Provision for Child Victims of the Great War in the French Empire’, published in French Historical Studies, 39: 2 (April 2016), 315-45.

The Society wishes to thank all those who submitted entries for this year’s competition.

The Prize is awarded annually for the best article in any area of French Studies published by an early career researcher, defined for the 2016 Prize as a scholar who received his/her PhD in or after 2011 but before the end of 2016.


Past Malcolm Bowie Prize Awards

2015: winner

Jennifer Rushworth,  ‘Proust, Derrida, and the Promise of Writing’, French Studies, 69.2 (April 2015), 205-29.

2014: joint winners
Edward Baring, PhD (Harvard University, 2009), for his article: ‘Ne me raconte plus d’histoires: Derrida and the Problem of the History of Philosophy’, published in History and Theory, 53.2 (2014), 175-193;
Chad B. Denton, PhD (University of California, Berkeley, 2009), for his article: ‘Steel of Victory, Scrap of Defeat: Mobilizing the French Home Front, 1939-40’, published in War & Society, 33.2 (2014), 98-130.

Katie Hornstein, PhD (University of Michigan, 2010), for her article, ‘Suspended Collectivity: Horace Vernet’s The Crossing of the Arcole Bridge(1826)’, published in Art History, 37.3 (2014), 428-53;
Robert St. Clair, PhD (University of Minnesota, 2011), for his article, ‘Laughing Matter(s): Poetics, Politics, and Ethics of the (Utopian) Body in Rimbaud’s Effarés’, published in Romanic Review, 104.1-2 (2013), 117-38 [article published in 2014].

2013: winner
Christopher Churchill (Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario). ‘The Unlikely Barrèsian Inheritance of Albert Camus’, Journal of the Canadian Historical Association / Revue de la Société historique du Canada 23:2 (2012), 251-297. [Journal year 2012, number published in 2013.]

Jennifer Edwards (Illinois at Urbana-Champaign). ‘“Man Can be Subject to Woman”: Female Monastic Authority in Fifteenth-Century Poitiers’,” Gender & History 25:1 (2013), 86-106; and,
Michael Meere (Virginia). ‘La violence sur la scène classique: une question de (dé)goût’, L’Invention du mauvais goût à l’âge classique (XVIIe-XVIIIe siècle), ed. Carine Barbafieri and Jean-Christophe Abramovici (Éditions Peeters, 2013), 123-40.

2012: winner
Hannah Freed-Thall (California at Berkeley). ‘Prestige of a Momentary Diamond: Economies of Distinction in Proust’, New Literary History (2012).

Elizabeth Everton (UCLA). ‘Scenes of Perception and Revelation: Gender and Truth in Anti-Dreyfusard Caricature’, French Historical Studies (2012)

2011: Winner
Andrew Counter (Cambridge). ‘One of Them: Homosexuality and Anarchism in Wilde and Zola’, Comparative Literature 63.4 (Fall 2011), 345-65.

Maria Muresan. ‘Wittgenstein in Recent French Poetics: Henri Meschonnic and Jacques Roubaud’, in ‘Wittgenstein, Theory, Literature’, edited by James Helgeson, Paragraph 34.3 (November 2011), 423–40.

André Dombrowski. ‘History, Memory, and Instantaneity in Edgar Degas’s Place de la Concorde‘, The Art Bulletin 9.2 (June 2011), 195-219.